FAIRagro - Illustration with plant and data

About FAIRagro

The FAIRagro consortium with more than 25 partners is building a FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable) research data management system for the agrosystems research community. We are developing the right tools and workflows to lay the foundations for sustainable crop production – now and in the future.

This was the FAIRagro Community Summit
on 17 and 18 June 2024

Over 120 interested parties from the FAIRagro community took part in the first FAIRagro Community Summit. We are delighted about two successful and insightful days.

Latest News

Our mission

We establish an interoperable and scalable RDI by connecting available repositories to make research data FAIR. We facilitate combined data analyses and establish a multilevel support system by setting up a Data Steward Service Center. We provide guidelines and information material, and focus on knowledge transfer for agrosystem researchers. FAIRagro addresses quality and legal security challenges beyond the FAIR principles.

Our aims are accomplished by close collaboration with other NFDI consortia and the national and international community. We advance NFDI ambitions with expertise and approaches for legal data security challenges, stakeholder involvement and RDIs for highly interdisciplinary and multi-scale research in a field of high societal relevance.

FAIRagro

This NFDI consortium is an initiative of NFDI4Agri for the agrosystem domain.      


Learn more …   

Our objectives

FAIRagro will develop an interoperable and scalable research data infrastructure for agrosystems research.

Learn more …

Partners

FAIRagro comprises partners with excellent disciplinary expertise and with many years of experience in research data management.

Learn more …

What the FAIRagro community says

Vasilka Stoilova

In the FAIRagro workshop “Legal Status Quo”, the special copyright features of research data were highlighted and researchers were sensitised in particular to the practical application of the legal provisions relevant to them. Based on concrete practical examples, a lively discussion developed after each presentation, which ensured the active participation of the participants. The mixture of short impulses on topics such as CC licences, good scientific practice and legal aspects of AI was very successful.

Vasilka Stoilova, LL.M., University of Mannheim

Until the “Legal Status Quo” workshop, I had little to do with the FAIRagro project as a consultant for technology transfer and law, but I registered out of interest and because the ATB is a participant in the consortium. It was a very successful workshop with stimulating discussions between the informative keynote speeches. I learnt a lot about copyright and the use of CC licences – in particular that the research data that our scientists collect and analyse is not protected by copyright per se. I was also impressed by the insight into the work and the associated challenges of a joint repository for the agricultural sciences.

Thank you for letting me get a taste of your work and for the great organisation, Lea.

Larissa Raatz, ATB Potsdam

Kai Sven Radtke

From a data scientist’s perspective, legal issues relating to data are very important. However, they are not always given sufficient attention and are perhaps sometimes perceived as a little daunting. The workshop “Legal Status Quo of FAIRagro Partners” gave me an overview of the issue of licensing research data with great speakers. It was understandable and I admit – interesting and entertaining.

Dr. Kai Radtke, DBFZ Deutsches Biomasseforschungszentrum

FAIRagro

Do you want to join us?

FAIRagro Community Summit 17. - 18. Juni 2024 in Berlin

Was ist FAIRagro?

Das FAIRagro-Konsortium mit mehr als 25 Partnern baut ein FAIRes Forschungsdaten- management (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable) für die Community der Agrosystemforschung auf. Wir entwickeln die passenden Tools und Workflows und schaffen so die Grundlagen für eine nachhaltige Pflanzenproduktion – jetzt und in Zukunft.  

FAIRagro Community Summit
am 17. Juni 2024 in Berlin-Mitte!

Die aktuellen Infos dazu gibt es immer hier und in unserem FAIRagro Newsletter, den es hier zu abonnieren gibt.

Aktuelles

Unsere Mission

Um Forschungsdaten der Agrosystemforschung FAIR zu machen, richten wir eine interoperable und skalierbare Forschungsdateninfrastruktur (FDI) ein. Wir vernetzen bestehende Repositorien miteinander und erleichtern auf diese Weise übergreifende und systemische Analysen. Wir machen unsere FDI begreifbar und nutzerfreundlich.

Unsere Nutzer können sich in allen Fragen zum Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) und unseren Services an das Helpdesk unseres Data Steward Service Centers wenden. Wir entwickeln Leitlinien und Informationsmaterial und stellen diese auf einer zentralen Plattform für alle Forschenden unserer Community bereit.

Mit FAIRagro gehen wir sogar über die FAIR-Prinzipien hinaus, indem wir nicht nur Rechtssicherheit bei der Verwendung und Bereitstellung von Daten herstellen, sondern auch die Qualität veröffentlichter Daten und damit der Agrosystemforschung insgesamt erhöhen.

Abbildung: Die FAIRagro Services und ihre Integration in die NFDI und die  (inter-) nationale FDM Gemeinschaften

Unsere Ziele erreichen wir durch eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit anderen NFDI-Konsortien und der nationalen und internationalen Gemeinschaft. Wir treiben die NFDI-Ambitionen voran: mit Fachwissen und Ansätzen für rechtliche Datensicherheitsherausforderungen sowie der Einbeziehung von Interessengruppen und Forschungsdateninfrastrukturen für hochgradig interdisziplinäre und multiskalige Forschung in einem Bereich von hoher gesellschaftlicher Relevanz.

FAIRagro

FAIRagro ist eine Initiative von NFDI4Agri für die Agrosystemforschung. 
       

Unsere Ziele

FAIRagro entwickelt eine interoperable und skalierbare Forschungsdaten­infrastruktur für die Agrosystemforschung. 

Partner

FAIRagro besteht aus Partnern mit exzellenter fachlicher Kompetenz und langjähriger Erfahrung im Forschungsdatenmanagement.

Stimmen aus der FAIRagro Community

Vasilka Stoilova

Im FAIRagro Workshop „Legal Status Quo“ wurden die urheberrechtlichen Besonderheiten von Forschungsdaten aufgezeigt, Forschende wurden insbesondere für die praktische Anwendung der für sie relevanten Rechtsvorschriften sensibilisiert. Anhand konkreter Praxisbeispiele hat sich nach jedem Vortrag eine rege Diskussion entwickelt, die für die aktive Beteiligung der Teilnehmenden gesorgt hat. Sehr gelungen war die Mischung aus Kurzimpulsen über Themen wie CC Lizenzen, gute wissenschaftliche Praxis und rechtliche Aspekte von KI.

Vasilka Stoilova, LL.M., University of Mannheim

Ich hatte bis zum Workshop „Legal Status Quo“ als Referentin für Technologietransfer und Recht wenig mit dem FAIRagro-Projekt zu tun, habe mich aber aus Interesse und, weil das ATB Teilnehmer im Konsortium ist, angemeldet. Es war ein sehr gelungener Workshop mit anregenden Diskussionen zwischen den informationsreichen Impulsvorträgen. Ich habe viel über das Urheberrecht und die Verwendung von CC-Lizenzen gelernt – insbesondere, dass die Forschungsdaten, welche unsere Wissenschaftler:innen erheben und auswerten, gar nicht per se urheberrechtlich geschützt sind. Der Einblick in die Arbeit und die damit verbundenen Herausforderungen an einem gemeinsamen Repositorium für die Agrarwissenschaften hat mich ebenfalls beeindruckt.

Danke, dass ich bei euch reinschnuppern konnte und für die tolle Organisation, Lea.

Larissa Raatz, ATB Potsdam

Kai Sven Radtke

Aus Sicht eines Datenwissenschaftlers sind rechtliche Themen, die Daten betreffen sehr wichtig. Sie werden aber nicht immer ausreichend beachtet und vielleicht manchmal als ein wenig abschreckend empfunden. Der Workshop „Legal Status Quo der FAIRagro Partner“ hat mir mit tollen Referenten einen Überblick über die Frage der Lizenzierung von Forschungsdaten verschafft. Er war verständlich und ich gebe zu – interessant und kurzweilig.

Dr. Kai Radtke, DBFZ Deutsches Biomasseforschungszentrum

FAIRagro

Möchten Sie
bei uns mitmachen?

Unsere Use Cases

Use Cases befassen sich mit RDM-Herausforderungen im Bereich der Agrarsysteme und ermöglichen es unserer Community, sich dynamisch an FAIRagro zu beteiligen und zu engagieren.